Dunn County Facts

County Seat Address Phone
County Court House P.O. Box 106
Manning, ND 58642-0106
(701) 573-4447




Dunn Center C

Dodge C The town of Dodge lies in the valley of Spring Creek and was organized in 1914. It was named for the owner of the land on which it is situated, G. W. Dodge, a banker from Anoka, Minnesota. The village was incorporated in 1917. 250
Fayette C The Black Sea Germans began to settle in this vicinity about forty miles north of Dickinson around 1903. Four families came to this region and took homesteads. They called the settlement-Fayette after Dr. Fayette Kendricks, a friend of the Frank Little family on whose farm the post office was established in 1898.
Halliday C The little town of Halliday got its name from the ranch home of Mr. William Halliday. The ranch was two miles north of the present site of the town. German Russian settlers came from the Golden Valley vicinity and settled here in the 1890's. Their settlements extended for miles north of Dodge and Halliday. While the Lutherans settled west of the town, the Catholics took homesteads to the northeast. When the Northern Pacific Railroad came through in 1914 the town was moved to alongside it. 355
Killdeer C Killdeer is not far from the place of the battle with the Indians in 1864. The post office was established in 1911. It was discontinued and then reestablished again when the Northern Pacific Railroad built its road through in 1914. The village was incorporated in 1919. The Black Sea Germans came here at the end of the 1880's and beginning of the 1890's. Among the first Catholic settlers were the Irish, French, Bohemians and German Russians. 790
Manning C county seat 75
Marshall C

New Hradec C


Genealogical Societies Address
Bismarck (Burleigh County)
Bismarck-Mandan Historical and Genealogical Society Box 485
Bismarck, ND 58501
Germans from Russia Heritage Society 1008 E. Central Ave
Bismarck, ND 58501
Fargo (Cass County)
Red River Valley Genealogical Society Library Human Services Bldg
15 Broadway - Suite 512
Fargo, ND 58016
Garrison (McLean County)
McLean County Genealogical Society P. O. Box 51
Garrison, ND 58540

Historical Societies Address Web Site
Dunn County Historical Society P. O. Box 86
Dunn Center, ND 58626

Bismarck-Mandan Historical and Genealogical Society Box 485
Bismarck, ND 58501

State Historical Society of North Dakota North Dakota Heritage Center
Bismarck, ND 58505
Web Site
State Historical Society of North Dakota Liberty Memorial Bldg.
Bismarck, ND 58501



Dunn County
Dunn County was created from Howard County (Discontinued) in 1883. Dunn County was organized on 17 January 1908. Dunn County was named for John P. Dunn, an early western North Dakota pioneer, a druggist, and later mayor of Bismarck. The county was formed from the last unorganized territory in North Dakota.

In 1886 Black Sea Germans settled in Mercer County, later moving into the Dunn County area. These first settlements were along the valley of the Spring Creek.

North Dakota
The first white man to visit North Dakota was the French explorer, Pierre Gaultier de Varennes, who reached Indian villages on the Missouri River in 1738. The French laid claim to the area in 1682, but permitted British fur trading. The Louisiana Purchase in 1803 gave the southwestern half of North Dakota to the United States. Lewis and Clark explored the area the following year.

The first permanent white settlement was made by Scottish pioneers from Canada in 1812 at Pembina. As Indians were driven westward, settlers came into the eastern regions of the state to farm. The Dakota Territory was organized in 1861 and included the two Dakotas, Montana, and Wyoming. The first Homestead Act offered free land to settlers, but the Civil War and Indian wars delayed settlement. During the Civil War, about 200 men fought for the Union forces. In 1864, the Montana Territory was created, which took the Wyoming and Montana areas from the Dakota Territory.

As railroads reached completion, settlement in North Dakota began in earnest. In 1871, railroads reached the Red River from St. Paul and Duluth. Dreams of acres of fertile land drew thousands of northern and middle Europeans to North Dakota. Norwegians led the immigration, but large numbers of Swedes, Danes, Icelanders, Czechs, Poles, and Dutch also came. French-Canadians came from Canada. Germans settled around Bismarck and the south central counties, which is evident from the names of the cities in the area, such as Leipzig, Strassburg and Danzig. The Dakota Territory was divided into North and South Dakota about 1873. In 1889, North Dakota became the thirty-ninth state in the Union.

FactNorth DakotaDunn County
Population701,200 (1986)4,627 (1986)
Largest cityFargo
Capital/County SeatBismarckManning
Area in Square Miles70,7022,084
DimensionsN-S 210 miles, E-W 360 miles
Highest PointWhite Butte, 3506 ft
Admitted to Union/State2 Nov 1889, as the 39th state17 January 1908
NicknamesFlickertail State; Sioux State
State FlowerWild Prairie Rose
State BirdWestern Meadowlark

Public LibrariesAddressPhoneWeb Site
State LibraryBismarck, ND 58501

Public LibraryFargo, ND 58102

Public LibraryGrand Forks, ND 58201

University of North Dakota LibraryGrand Forks, ND 58201

Public LibraryMinot, ND 58701

Genealogy LibrariesAddressPhoneWeb SiteE-Mail
Red River Valley Genealogical Society Library Human Services Bldg
15 Broadway - Suite 512
Fargo, ND 58016

ND State Historical Society 612 E. Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND 58505-0830
$5 each

Surrounding CountiesND AHGP SiteDirection
McLeanWeb Sitenortheast
MercerWeb Siteeast
StarkWeb Sitesouth
BillingsWeb Site southwest
McKenzieWeb Sitenorthwest
MountrailWeb Sitenorth

Top of Page
Dunn County site

You are a welcome visitor since 1 Jul 2011
Thanks for stopping by!

Last Updated: 19 May 2017

2011-2017, Copyright Tim Stowell